Kansai region located in the western region of Japanese main island of Honshu, is the second most populated region after Kanto. The region is most famous for Osaka, Kyoto and Kobe. This region is known as the Cultural capital of Japan and there are many customs and traditions that are still being followed even today in Japan.

Osaka prefecture is the second smallest prefecture in Japan but is the Economic and Commercial hub of Kansai region. Osaka acts as a main gateway for International travelers in Kansai region as well as other neighboring regions. The Kansai International Airport is built on an artificial island in Osaka Bay. Osaka is famous for its Osaka Castle located in the center of the city.

Kyoto, the Cultural hub has many UNESCO World Heritage sites and some of the must see places in Kyoto include Kinkaku-ji (Golden Pavillion), Kiyomizu-dera (Historic temple with picturesque views), Fushimi Inari (Shinto shrine with famed Gates), Arashiyama (Bamboo forest), To-ji temple and Kyoto Imperial Palace. The city is also famous for its Tea-ceremony, Geisha and Kimono.

Nara, the ancient capital of Japan is most famous for its iconic Todai-ji temple and its 15 meter tall bronze Buddha. Its also known for its Deer park. Nara is a popular day trip from Osaka or Kyoto.
Himeji city in Hyogo prefecture is known for its white Castle and is considered as Japan’s most spectacular castle for its imposing size and beauty. It’s the biggest castle in all of Japan and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Himeji castle is generally visited as a day trip from Osaka. Kobe is a Cosmopolitan port city in Hyogo prefecture.

The 7 prefectures of Chubu are –

1. Hyogo

2. Kyoto

3. Mie

4. Nara

5. Osaka

6. Shiga

7. Wakayama